going to therapy

So last year, maybe the year before, I went through three therapists before I found a really really good one.   It’s kinda weird talking to someone about your most private thoughts. But hell, what am I paying $130 an hour for if I’m not totally honest?  

It’s been awkward for me.  Meaning, that I feel like it should be easy for me, but it’s not.  My therapist will say something that is SO obvious in hindsight, but I lack the emotional experience to see that for myself.    I broke down in her office last week and cried like a child, because my son gave me a gift for father’s day.   I haven’t cried in 27 years.

I describe it as feeling raw.  Emotionally raw.  It lasts for a couple hours after I walk out the door.  

-Terry

Leave a Reply

