Being Psychotic

This may be triggering for its mention of psychosis, bullying, and mental illness.

I have suffered from psychosis since I was eight years old and am currently on a high dose of anti-psychotics (aripiprazole 20mg to be precise).

I used to be really outgoing, but after I was bullied and outcast as a teenager I isolated myself, which I think has led to a lot of emotional problems. I’m smart – I was moved up a year in school – and am currently on a very lonely gap year before I go to study at university.

I have not told anyone at work about my illness. It is too embarrassing. It makes me seem weak. I probably should let someone know that my medication is turning me into a zombie and it’s not just my personality though.

-Hermione (a pseudonym)

Leave a Reply

